Home > screeNZ News > Film > Toni Erdmann parties in Poland

Toni Erdmann parties in Poland

Maren Ade’s Toni Erdmann (pictured, top) converted all five of its European Film Awards (EFA) nominations into wins at the ceremony in Poland Sunday morning NZ time. Ade’s film took the headline Best Film award, Director and Screenplay gongs for Ade, plus the Actor and Actress gongs for Peter Simonischek and Sandra Hüller.

The other film picking up multiple awards was Martin Zandvliet’s Land Of Mine, which took three technical gongs: Cinematographer (Camilla Hjelm Knudsen); Costume Designer (Stefanie Bieker); and Hair & Make-Up Artist (Barbara Kreuzer).

Fire at Sea, which began its year a winner at the Berlinale, ednded in the same manner, taking the EFS’s Documentary award.

Following Britain’s vote to leave the EU, nobody will be surprised that none of the four nominations for Ken Loach’s Palme d’Or winner I, Daniel Blake turned into awards at the ceremony.

Irish actor Pierce Brosnan, who’s in between a couple of features by expat director Martin Campbell (the completed The Foreigner and upcoming Across The River and into the Trees) took one of the EFA’s honorary gongs, the European Achievement in World Cinema Award.

The European Film Awards will be presented in Poland on 10 December. The nominees are:

European Film
Elle, France, Germany
I, Daniel Blake, UK, France
Julieta, Spain
Room, Ireland, Canada
*** Toni Erdmann, Germany, Austria

European Comedy
*** A Man Called Ove / En man som heter Ove, Sweden, Norway
Look Who’s Back / Er Ist Wieder Da, Germany
One Man & His Cow / La Vache, France

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI
Dogs / Caini, France, Romania, Bulgaria, Qatar
Liebmann, Germany
Sand Storm, Israel
*** The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Maki / Hymylievä Mies, Finland, Germany, Sweden
Thirst / Jajda, Bulgaria

European Documentary
21 x New York / 21 x Nowy Jork, Poland
A Family Affair, The Netherlands, Belgium
*** Fire at Sea / Fuocoammare, Italy, France
Mr. Gaga, Israel, Sweden, Germany, The Netherlands
S Is For Stanley / Trent’anni Dietro Al Volante Per Stanley Kubrick, Italy
The Land of the Enlightened, Belgium, The Netherlands, Germany, Ireland

European Animated Feature Film
*** My Life As A Zucchini / Ma Vie De Courgette, Switzerland, France
Psiconautas, The Forgotten Children, Spain
The Red Turtle / La Tortue Rouge, France, Belgium

European Short Film
*** 9 Days – From My Window In Aleppo, The Netherlands, Syria
90 Degrees North / 90 Grad Nord, Germany
A Man Returned, UK, Lebanon, Denmark, The Netherlands
Amalimbo, Sweden, Estonia
Edmond, UK
Home, Kosovo, UK
I’m not from here / Yo no soy de aquí, Chile, Denmark, Lithuania
In the distance, Germany
Limbo, France, Greece
Shooting Star, Bulgaria, Italy
Small Talk, Norway
The Fullness of Time (Romance), Belgium, France
The Goodbye / El Adiós, Spain
The Wall / Le Mur, Belgium
We All Love The Sea Shore / Tout le monde aime le bord de la mer, Spain

European Director
Paul Verhoeven, Elle
Cristian Mungiu, Graduation / Bacalaureat
Ken Loach, I, Daniel Blake
Pedro Almodóvar, Julieta
*** Maren Ade, Toni Erdmann

European Actress
Isabelle Huppert, Elle
Emma Suárez & Adriana Ugarte, Julieta
Valeria Bruni Tedeschi, Like Crazy / La Pazza Gioia
Trine Dyrholm, The Commune / Kollektivet
*** Sandra Hüller, Toni Erdmann

European Actor
Rolf Lassgård, A Man Called Ove / En man som heter Ove
Hugh Grant, Florence Foster Jenkins
Dave Johns, I, Daniel Blake
Burghart Klaußner, The People vs. Fritz Bauer / Der Staat gegen Fritz Bauer
*** Peter Simonischek, Toni Erdmann
Javier Cámara, Truman

European Screenwriter
Cristian Mungiu, Graduation / Bacalaureat
Paul Laverty, I, Daniel Blake
Emma Donoghue, Room
*** Maren Ade, Toni Erdmann
Tomasz Wasilewski, United States of Love / Zjednoczone stany miłości

EFA Lifetime Achievement Award
Jean-Claude Carrière

European Co-Production Award – Prix Eurimages
Léontine Petit

European Achievement in World Cinema
Pierce Brosnan

People’s Choice Award
Malgorzata Szumowska, Body

Technical Awards
European Cinematographer 2016 – Prix Carlo di Palma:

Camilla Hjelm Knudsen, Land Of Mine

European Editor 2016
Anne Østerud & Janus Billeskov Jansen, The Commune

European Production Designer 2016
Alice Normington, Suffragette

European Costume Designer 2016
Stefanie Bieker, Land Of Mine

European Hair & Make-Up Artist 2016
Barbara Kreuzer, Land Of Mine

European Composer 2016
Ilya Demutsky, The Student

European Sound Designer 2016
Radosław Ochnio, 11 Minutes

You may also like
German comedy leads EFA nominations
European Film Awards winners 2015
APSA winners denied at EFA
EFA names 50