Home > screeNZ News > Film > Toronto hands out 2016 gongs

Toronto hands out 2016 gongs

The Toronto International Film Festival presented its awards Sunday (NZ time). Damien Chazelle’s La La Land (pictured, top), which arrived in Toronto with lots of buzz following screenings at Venice and Telluride, took the festival’s audience award.

Among the other prizes, Chinese director Feng Xiaogang’s I Am Not Madame Bovary took the FIPRESCI Prize for Special Presentations.

Steve James, here a couple of years ago for Doc Edge, was named runner-up for the Grolsch People’s Choice Documentary Award for ABACUS: Small Enough to Jail.

The festival wraps today (NZ time) with mixed opinions on its success this year. Few films have debuted at Toronto and garnered the sort of responses that kickstart awards season momentum. Despite reports of discussions about several titles, few sales have been announced.

La La Land

The Toronto International Film Festival ran 8 – 18 September. The award winners were:

Short Cuts Award for Best Canadian Short Film
Mutants, Alexandre Dostie

Short Cuts Award for Best Short Film
Imago, Raymund Ribay Gutierrez
Honourable Mentions:
Anna, Or Sinai
The White Helmets, Orlando von Einsiedel

City of Toronto Award for Best Canadian First Feature Film
Old Stone (Lao shi), Johnny Ma

Canada Goose Award for Best Canadian Feature Film
Those Who Make Revolution Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves (Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitié n’ont fait que se creuser un tombeau), Mathieu Denis and Simon Lavoie

FIPRESCI Prize for the Discovery programme
Kati Kati, Mbithi Masya

FIPRESCI Prize for Special Presentations
I Am Not Madame Bovary, Feng Xiaogang

NETPAC Award for World or International Asian Film Premiere
In Between (Bar Bahar), Maysaloun Hamoud

Toronto Platform Prize
Jackie, Pablo Larraín
Special Mention toHema Hema: Sing Me a Song While I Wait (he-mà he-mà), Khyentse Norbu

Grolsch People’s Choice Award
La La Land, Damien Chazelle
Runner-up: Lion, Garth Davis
Second Runner-up: Queen of Katwe, Mira Nair

Grolsch People’s Choice Midnight Madness Award
Free Fire, Ben Wheatley
Runner up: The Autopsy of Jane Doe, André Øvredal
Second Runner up: Raw, Julia Ducournau

Grolsch People’s Choice Documentary Award
I Am Not Your Negro, Raoul Peck
Runner-up: ABACUS: Small Enough to Jail, Steve James
Second Runner-up: Before the Flood, Fisher Stevens

Dropbox Discovery Programme Filmmakers Award
Jeffrey, Yanillys Perez

You may also like
Thumbs down for Toronto
Vinnie Bennett a Rising Star
Waiting for Toronto
Toronto cracks open 2017 door