Home > screeNZ News > Tropfest finalists go for the boot

Tropfest finalists go for the boot

Tropfest New Zealand has announced 16 finalists for the inaugural edition of the short film competition. The festival offers prizes for Best Film, Director, Maori Director, Actor and Actress.

The Best Film winner collects return air tickets to Los Angeles, accommodation and cash. The prize is sponsored by the Motion Picture Association (MPA) and The New Zealand Federation Against Copyright Theft (NZFACT), appropriately since Tropfest founder John Polson was recently honoured as the MPA’s Asia-Pacific Copyright Educator of the Year at the CineAsia conference in Hong Kong.

The festival has run in its native Australia for twenty years. NZ is one of a number of expansions in recent years, which now see Tropfest run in Arabia and two US cities.

Here, 16 films have made the cut with Polson saying “Any expectations we had for Tropfest New Zealand have already been greatly exceeded.”

One expectation all films had to meet this year was the inclusion of a gumboot.

A few well-known names feature in the list, with longtime producer Tui Ruwhiu, Grant Lahood (Intersexion, Kombi Nation, Chicken) and Cristobal Araus Lobos (Netherwood, Curry Munchers) all having films selected.

The finalist films are:
A Kiwi Legend, Tess Novak
Booger, Tui Ruwhiu
Cappuccino Tango, Dave Smith
Hey Alba, Dawn Tuffery
Midnight at the Pier, Ingrid Saker
Paper Nation: For the Record, Kalind Hutchinson
Peers, Michael McAdam
Round Up, Gareth Van Niekerk
Sounds Perfect, Allan George
Sprung, Grant Lahood
Stop, Nicholas Garrett
The Forgotten Astronaut, Bruce Gatwood-Cook
The Waiting, Shay Logan
Tunnel, Joel Garman
Vivid, Eli Mead
Watch Your Mouth, Cristobal Araus Lobos

The festival screens in New Plymouth Sunday 27 January. More information here.

You may also like
Tropfest announces hub, partners and date
‘Naki to drop Tropfest
Tropfest names 2017 winners
Tropfest names 2017 finalists