Home > screeNZ News > Film > Tropfest names 2017 finalists

Tropfest names 2017 finalists

Tropfest New Zealand today announced the 16 talented filmmakers whose films will screen to a live audience and judging panel on February 18 at the TSB Bowl of Brooklands in New Plymouth, Taranaki.

2016 finalists returning for another crack at the Tropfest trophies are Nicola Peeperkoorn (nominated in 2016 for Meet Hamish); Kirk and Luke Bremner (2016’s Halfway to Timbuktu); Allan George (3rd place in 2016 for Lon-Done); and Kennedy Faimanifo, whose Papa Taniwha took the Best Animated Film award last year.

This year’s judges include writer James Griffin (The Brokenwood Mysteries, Westside, Outrageous Fortune), actorsGeraldine Brophy (Home Movie, King Kong, In My Father’s Den) and Karlos Drinkwater (Shortland Street, Spartacus: Blood and Sand), and producer Angela Littlejohn (Show of Hands, Apron Strings, Separation City).

Following the announcement of the event’s cancellation for 2017, Venture Taranaki and South Pacific Pictures stepped in to support the 2017 edition to go ahead. The deal is for this edition only, with no announcements yet made about Tropfest’s future beyond 2017.

Tropfest NZ runs Saturday 18 February at the TSB Bowl of Brooklands, New Plymouth. The 2017 finalists are:
Director: Adam Browne (Wellington)
Producers: Adam Browne, Chris Leishman & Jordan Soper
Encroached (pictured, top)
Director: Robert Stannard
Producer: Kennedy Faimanifo (Auckland)
Fishman 3: The Casting Tape
Directors: Allan George (Rotorua/Auckland)
Producers: Ben Fowler & Allan George
High Waisted
Director & Producer: Brad Davison (Auckland)
My Little Brother
Director & Producer: Anthony Bennett (New Plymouth)
On Knife Edge
Director: Peter Young (Auckland), Co-Director: Matthew Quinnell (Hamilton/Auckland)
Producer: Peter Young
Directors: Simon Schueller (Auckland) & Steven Johnston (Auckland)
Producer: Simon Schueller
Director: Lucy Timmins (Auckland)
Producers: Lucy Timmins & Paul Olohan
Remember When Dad Fought a Ghost?
Director: Ryan Knighton (Wellington)
Producer: Gregory Bennett
Directors: Lauren Porteous (Auckland)
Producer: Greg Smith
Director: Ghazaleh Golbaksh (Auckland)
Producers: Ghazaleh Golbaksh & Samuel Christopher
Director: Ben Corcoran (Hamilton)
Producers: Andrew Garfield & Ben Corcoran
Tears of Valhalla
Director: David Allen (Wellington)
Producers: Stephanie Sinclair & David Allen
The Anniversary
Directors & Producers: Mary Rinaldi (Hamilton) & Sasha Nixon (Hamilton)
The Classified
Directors & Producers: Luke & Kirk Bremner (Dunedin/Auckland)
Director: Nicola Peeperkoorn (Auckland)
Producers: Steve Sachs & Nicola Peeperkoorn

You may also like
Tropfest announces hub, partners and date
‘Naki to drop Tropfest
Tropfest names 2017 winners
Tropfest confirms new ambassadors