Home > screeNZ News > Tropfest savours Every Moment

Tropfest savours Every Moment

Gabriel Reid’s Every Moment, produced by Reid and Maile Daugherty, ran out the winner at Tropfest in Taranaki on the weekend.

Every Moment

Every Moment

The win netted the team $10,000 cash from Tropfest plus the NZ Screen Association/MPA-sponsored five-day trip to Los Angeles. Every Moment took three prizes in all on the night, with Bree Peters taking the Best Actress gong and Maori award. Late on Monday, the film was also announced as the winner of the Viewers’ Choice vote.

This year’s judges were directors James Napier Robinson (The Dark Horse), Robert Sarkies (Scarfies), and Gaylene Preston (Hope and Wire), plus academic Geoff Lealand.

Every Moment

Previous finalist films are on Tropfest’s YouTube channel, which has been viewed close to 34 million times. Early planners will be keen to know that the Tropfest Signature Item for the 2016 competition will be ‘Dream’.

Tropfest NZ ran 14 February in New Plymouth. The 2015 winners were:

Best Film
Every Moment, Gabriel Reid
Runner up (2nd place): This Side up Removals, Luke Bremner
Runner up (3rd place): Slabbed, Ben Hobbs

Best Animated Film
Egg, Steven McNicoll

Best Actress
Bree Peters, Every Moment

Best Actor
Preston O’Brien, Slabbed

Best VFX
Charlie Floyd’s Visionarium , Emma Schranz

Te Tohu Auahatanga Maori Award
Bree Peters, Every Moment

You may also like
Tropfest announces hub, partners and date
‘Naki to drop Tropfest
Tropfest names 2017 winners
Tropfest names 2017 finalists