Home > News from Elsewhere > Media Releases > Wairoa 2011 finds its winners

Wairoa 2011 finds its winners

The annual Queen’s Birthday weekend film festival down in Wairoa closed Monday, having passed out the gongs on Saturday. Kim Webby’s October 15, about the anti-terror raids in 2007, took the main prize, the Mana Wairoa Festival Prize.

One new award was added to the presentation ceremony this year, the WIFT-supported Mana Wahine Award, won by Katie Wolfe whose This Is Her screened in the weekend’s programme.

The winners were:

Best Actor – Short Film (Audience Award)
Harlen Hoani Thompson, Koro’s Medal, dir. James Barr

Best Male Actor – Feature Film
Rangimoana Taylor, Hook Line and Sinker, dir. Andrea Bosshard and Shane Loader

Best Female Actor – Feature Film (Aotearoa Drama)
Mabel Wharekawa-Burt, Matariki, dir. Michael Bennett

Best Short Film (Aotearoa Audience Award)
Taku Raku E, dir. Kararaina Rangihau, prod. Merata Mita

Best International Indigenous Entry
Lani’s Story, dir. Genevieve Grieves (Australia)

Best Aotearoa Feature Drama or Documentary
Matariki, dir. Michael Bennett

Mana Wairoa Festival Prize (Best Overall Entry Festival 2011)
October 15, dir. Kim Webby, producer Pietra Bretkelly

WIFT Mana Wahine Award 2011
Katie Wolfe

International Indigenous Entry
Lani’s Story

You may also like
Tama big winner in Wairoa
WIFT to honour Christina Asher
Wairoa names first titles for 2017
Wairoa names 2016 winners