Home > screeNZ News > WGA writes own story

WGA writes own story

The US Writers Guild awards disagreed with most other industry events presenting awards to writers, picking The Imitation Game and The Grand Budapest Hotel as the adapted screenplay and original screenplay awards.

The Imitation Game

In addition to the voted-for awards, a bunch of honorary awards were also presented: to writers including the late Ghostbusters and Groundhog Day writer Harold Ramis and Grey’s Anatomy and Scandal creator Shonda Rhimes. Double Oscar winner Paul Haggis (Crash) was also celebrated.

The winners of WGA awards in screen-related categories were:

Original Screenplay
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Wes Anderson

Adapted Screenplay
The Imitation Game
Graham Moore

Documentary Screenplay
The Internet’s Own Boy: The Story of Aaron Swartz
Brian Knappenberger

Television And New Media Nominees
Drama Series
True Detective
Nic Pizzolatto; HBO

Comedy Series
Louis CK; FX

New Series
True Detective
Nic Pizzolatto; HBO

Long Form Original
Deliverance Creek
Melissa Carter; Lifetime

Long Form Adapted
Olive Kitteridge
Jane Anderson; HBO

Short Form New Media – Original
High Maintenance: “Episode 113: Rachel”
Katja Blichfeld & Ben Sinclair; helpingyoumaintain.com

The Simpsons: “Brick Like Me”
Brian Kelley; Fox

Episodic Drama
The Good Wife; “The Last Call”
Robert King & Michelle King; CBS

Episodic Comedy
Louie: “So Did the Fat Lady”
Louis C.K.; FX

Comedy / Variety Series
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver

Daytime Drama
General Hospital

Children’s Script – Episodic And Specials
Haunted Hathaways: “Haunted Heartthrob”
Bob Smiley; Nickelodeon

Documentary Script – Current Events
Frontline: “United States of Secrets: The Program (Part One)”
Michael Kirk & Mike Wiser; PBS

Documentary Script – Other Than Current Events
Frontline: “League of Denial: The NFL’s Concussion Crisis”
Michael Kirk & Mike Wiser; PBS

TV News Script – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, Or Breaking Report
World News with Diane Sawyer: “Nelson Mandela: A Man Who Changed the World” Diane Sawyer, Lisa Ferri, Dave Bloch; ABC News

TV News Script – Analysis, Feature, Or Commentary
60 Minutes: “Nowhere to Go”
Scott Pelley, Oriana Zill de Granados & Michael Rey; CBS

Videogame Award
Outstanding Achievement in Videogame Writing

The Last of Us: Left Behind
Neil Druckmann