Home > screeNZ News > Film > WIFT NZ names 2016 winners

WIFT NZ names 2016 winners

NZ On Air CEO Jane Wrightson (pictured, top) took the Outstanding Contribution award at the WIFT Awards ceremony in Auckland on Wednesday.

Philly de Lacy, named Independent Producer of the Year by SPADA late last year, was a winner again, taking the Success in Television gong. In total, seven awards were presented, with Kate Rodgers doing the MC-ing honours for the event.

WIFT’s judging panel for the awards was Christina Milligan (Chair), Vicki Jackways, Robin Laing, Jill Macnab, Kelly Martin, Fiona Milburn, Hineani Melbourne and Julia Parnell. Finalists were selected from 105 nominations across the seven categories.

The WIFT Awards winners were (marked ***):

South Pacific Pictures Award for Achievement in Film
*** Leanne Pooley for Beyond the Edge
Miriam Smith for The Ground We Won
Chelsea Winstanley for What We Do in the Shadows

Images & Sound Award for Success in Television
Tash Christie for Neighbours at War, Showtime and Nabbed for Greenstone TV
*** Philly de Lacey for Screentime New Zealand’s body of work first broadcast between 1 July 2013 and 30 June 2015
Bronwynn Wilson for Jono and Ben

Queenstown Camera Company Entrepreneurship Award
*** Bettina Hollings, Imagination Television Ltd
Robyn Scott-Vincent, The Attitude Group
Michelle Walshe, Augusto Ltd

Professional Lighting Services Award for Unsung Heroine of the NZ Screen Industry
Christina Asher
*** Leonne Kassler
Pat Robins

Fulcrum Media Finance Woman to Watch Award
*** Desray Armstrong
Alyx Duncan
Sophie Henderson

Te Reo Māori Champion Award
Mihingarangi Forbes
Mina Mathieson
*** Hinewehi Mohi

Outstanding Contribution to the NZ Screen Industry
sponsored by Great Southern Film & Television

Jane Wrightson

You may also like
WIFT calls for award nominees
Nurse Me to UK
WIFT to honour Christina Asher
WIFT to honour two